CCE banner

NASA Scientist Diane Wickland Honored with Flinn Award

WASHINGTON – NASA Headquarters scientist Diane Wickland has received the prestigious Flinn Award from the American Geophysical Union (AGU). The award was presented Thursday, May 24, 2007 at the AGU conference in Acapulco, Mexico. Wickland was this year’s sole recipient, based on nominations by peers in the scientific community.

The award was established in 1990 in honor of internationally renowned Earth scientist Edward A. Flinn III and the standard he set as an outstanding science facilitator. The Flinn Award recognizes individuals who personify the Union’s motto of “unselfish cooperation in research” through facilitation, coordination and implementation of activities that have strengthened the infrastructure on which Earth science research depends.

Wickland has served as manager of NASA’s Terrestrial Ecology Program since 1987. She also leads the agency’s Carbon Cycle and Ecosystems Focus Area and was a former cochair of the U.S. Climate Change Science Program’s Carbon Cycle Interagency Working Group. Wickland previously was a member of the technical staff for the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif. She is chair of the board of professional certification for the Ecological Society of America and a member of the editorial board for Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment.

Wickland earned her M.S. and Ph.D. in botany from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a B.A. in botany from the University of Wisconsin at Madison.